Home / History & Facts / Board of Directors
Things To Do
Things To Know
View Our FAQ
Contact Us
Site Search
Fight Fraud
Board of Directors
The Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans' eleven member Board of Directors consists of the Mayor, two representatives of the Board of Liquidation, and eight citizen members, of which five represent council districts, one at-large representative, and two consumer advocates.

Citizen members are appointed by the mayor with the advice and consent of the city council from a list of nominees submitted by a Selection Committee comprised of representatives from the following organizations: Dillard University, Loyola University, Tulane University, Xavier University, Delgado Community College, University of New Orleans, Southern University at New Orleans, New Orleans Chamber of Commerce, New Orleans Regional Black Chamber of Commerce, and the Urban League of Greater New Orleans.

Citizen members are required to be registered voters in Orleans Parish, shall have been a domiciliary of Orleans Parish for two years previous to their appointment, shall have experience in either architecture, environmental quality, finance, accounting, business administration, engineering, law, public health, urban planning, facilities management, public administration, science, construction, business management, community or consumer advocacy, or other pertinent disciplines, and their appointment shall reflect the gender and racial diversity of our city. Two citizen members shall be consumer advocates with community advocacy or consumer protection experience or experience in a related field.

The term of office for members appointed to the Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans is four years and a member shall serve no more than two consecutive terms of office.

The Board holds committee and regular meetings once each month, to which the public is invited. Visit the News & Events section for a current schedule of meetings.

Current Board Officers
  • Mitchell J. Landrieu
  • Scott Jacobs
    President Pro-Tem
Current Board Members
  • Alan Arnold
  • Robin Barnes
  • Eric Blue
  • Marion Bracy
  • Dr. Tamika Duplessis
  • Ralph W. Johnson
  • Kerri Kane
  • Joseph Peychaud
Our Mission is to provide safe drinking water to everyone in New Orleans; to remove waste water for safe return to the environment; to drain away storm water; to provide water for fire protection; to provide information about products and services; and to do all of this continuously at a reasonable cost to the community.